Writers Have to go Out Sometimes

Hello,
I know I seem to have disappeared for a while, so rather than leave you all wondering where on earth I have got to, I thought I would tell you a little bit about what I have been doing and what plans I have for the soon-to-be-coming posts, on Character.

It’s May, my favourite month, and the bluebells are out in the woods behind my house.
IMG_1012

Things have got very busy since the Writers’ Gathering. We now have Spring Fling in Dumfries and Galloway, where, for four days in Spring each year, Dumfries and Galloway host a open studio event where artists and makers, from all around the region, open their studios to the public, discuss their working practices and sell some of their work. This year there are 93 artists and makers participating and more planned bus tours, covering groups of studios in different areas, than ever before. I am getting on the yellow route bus this coming Saturday to view ten studios close to where I live and will be going armed with my camera and notebook!

I have been writing poems in response to the paintings of an abstract artist – Patti Lean – living at Newtonairds just outside Dumfries and to my delight she is going to display them in her studio this Spring Fling, next to the paintings that gave them life.

I have also been doing some cleaning at a small theatre – the smallest in Scotland, I believe, where a variety of performances take place each weekend over the summer season.

The Swallow Theatre near Whithorn

The Swallow Theatre near Whithorn

Tomorrow I am going there to watch a rehearsal that is attended not only by the actors but by the writers of a series of short plays, to see how a written screenplay comes to life on stage.

And, on the few dry days that we have had, between my writing and my work, I have been rushing out into the garden for a burst of feverish activity, to continue sorting out the massive amount of damage we had after the snow in March.

The crushed centre of what was a lovely shaped conifer

The crushed centre of what was a lovely shaped conifer

With almost three acres of garden and a lot of trees damaged, it’s taking a while. And of course at this time of year everything is exploding into bloom and the grass is growing faster than we can control it!

I have also been giving a lot of thought to how to organize the next posts. Character is a huge section with so many interrelated pieces that it’s making me cross-eyed and taking ages to sort out what I want to say under each section. There will be as many as twenty on character building and motivation. I have to plan all of them at the same time, so that they follow on logically from each other and so that I don’t repeat myself, or get you (or myself) in a muddle. This means there may always be a bit of a pause when I change from one large subject area to another. There is so much to do. Rest assured, I am working on it, getting there and will be posting as soon as I can…..

About lesleyjjackson

Author, Short Story Writer and Poet - Offers help to new, confused and blocked writers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writers Have to go Out Sometimes

  1. Mary Smith says:

    Good post, Lesley. I don’t know how you manage to fit everything in, especially with such a huge garden to care for. You make me feel quite lazy. Looking forward to the posts on characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

