Writers Are Thinkers Too


IMG_0657Hello Everybody,

The Volkswagen Beetle in this photo has something in common with me right now – neither of us are quite where we were  expecting to be. I have been ill for well over a week with some flu-type virus that I don’t seem to be able to shake off, so my next post on character has been delayed.

However, I’ve been thinking and I know you do quite a bit of that too, so right now I would like you to think a bit  and answer a question or two for me – about writing workshops.

I understand there is quite a bit of controversy surrounding these at the moment as to whether they are all they are cracked up to be and whether we should be finding a new way of helping writers develop their work. What do you think? It would be interesting to share views and see what people have to say about this.

If you attend, or have attended, a writing workshop, how was it for you? What did or do you find most useful? If you hated the experience what was it that didn’t work for you? How could it have been improved? Do you think they are a good idea and for what reasons? Do you think they are the best way to learn about writing? Is there a way that you can think of that might work better? If you have never been to a writing workshop, what would you say is the best way to learn the craft of writing?

Anything you want to tell me about what you think, believe or has been your experience, now’s your chance…..

and I’ll be back just as soon as I can.

About lesleyjjackson

Author, Short Story Writer and Poet - Offers help to writers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.